President of Türkiye Recep Tayyip Erdoğan paid an official visit to Greece, during which it was announced that Greece would provide Turkish citizens with a one-week express  (visa on arrival) visa.

Covering the Eastern Aegean Islands

Dimitris Kairides, Greece's Minister for Migration, shared details about the fast-track visa for Turks visiting the Greek islands. Kairides, expecting the signing of agreements on this matter today, stated, 'Greece is a Schengen country, and we have requested this from Schengen to make it easier for Turkish citizens to visit the Eastern Aegean islands.' While confirming the inclusion of the Eastern Aegean islands in this arrangement, Kairides said, 'This is certainly something that Turks have long desired, and our islanders also want this very much.'

Including Rhodes

The Greek minister mentioned that this agreement would not be limited to the summer months but valid throughout the entire year. Kairides said, "Rhodes will also be included, but there are many benefits for islands without charter flights, without international flights, such as those with only small family tourism in August, like, for example, Mytilene."

Encompassing 10 islands

Kairides listed the islands covered by the agreement. According to the minister's statement, the agreement will include Limnos, Mytilene, Chios, Samos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Rhodes, Symi, and Kastellorizo."

Editor: Savaş Daş